Maxims & Sayings: 1st Week in Ordinary Time

Maxims & Sayings: 1st Week in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 12th January (Baptism of the Lord) A man should keep himself down, and not busy himself in mirabilibus super se. Monday, 13th January Men should often renew their good resolutions, and not lose heart because they are tempted against them. Tuesday, 14th January...
Maxims & Sayings: 1st Week in Ordinary Time

Maxims and Sayings: Epiphanytide

5th January It is well to choose some one good devotion, and to stick to it, and never to abandon it. _ 6th January (Epiphany) He who wishes for anything but Christ, does not know what he wishes; he who asks for anything but Christ, does not know what he is asking; he...
Maxims & Sayings: 1st Week in Ordinary Time

Maxims and Sayings: 33rd Week in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 17th November Resignation is all in all to the sick man; he ought to say to God, “Lord, if You want me, here I am, although I have never done any good: do with me what You will.” Monday, 18th November Never make a noise of any sort in church, except for the...
Maxims and Sayings: 32nd Week in Ordinary Time

Maxims and Sayings: 32nd Week in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 10th November We ought to pray God importunately to increase in us every day the light and heat of his goodness. Monday, 11th November It is an old custom with the servants of God always to have some little prayers ready, and to be darting them up to heaven...
Maxims & Sayings: 1st Week in Ordinary Time

Maxims and Sayings of St Philip Neri: 31st Week in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 3rd November Let the young man look after the flesh, and the old man after avarice, and we shall all be saints together. _ Monday, 4th November Where there is no great mortification there is no great sanctity. Tuesday, 5th November The sanctity of a man lies...
Maxims and Sayings: 32nd Week in Ordinary Time

Maxims and Sayings of St Philip Neri: 30th Week in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 27th October Scruples ought to be most carefully avoided, as they disquiet the mind, and make a man melancholy. Monday, 28th October Let us throw ourselves into the arms of God, and be sure that if He wishes anything of us, He will make us good for all He...